Pictures of the Past: Benjamin and Barthes on photography and history1

this essay looks at the key ideas of both Benjamin and Barthes. I have used it as a way of better understanding the ideas and concepts around both of these writers ideas. I have found when writing my own essay that attempting to put things as simply and precisely has been very difficult. Benjamin’s vocabulary is excellent but this has posed problems for me in the understanding of his points I have been using a dictionary to understand the definitions of each individual words but this does not help when the meaning relies on the words being used together I struggle somethings, this essay really helped me get to grips with what Benjamin and Barthes are trying to say.

http://eprints.lancs.ac.uk/33411/1/PHOTO2k_eprint.pdf

Leave a Reply

